Travelling from UK and total noob to Gen Con
Posted by geniuscodemonkey

As the title says, I'm travelling from the UK for GenCon and I'm a complete noob for GenCon on the US. I've attended several GenCons (around 20 years ago) in the UK and lots of other conventions but nothing as big as what you've got over there.... so some advise please.. 

• I want to go to a live event of some kind.
  • I'm thinking of GMing something.
  • I've booked a hotel thats about a 25 minute drive away but I'm thinking of taking an Uber each day (is this a good idea).
  • I mainly want to play in games (preferably not 5e), where can I find a GM?
  • Is there a group of non-noobs that I can hang out with that can show me the ropes?
  • I read somewhere there is a 5k race? If I bring my running stuff is there somewhere to shower afterwards and store my stuff while I go for the run? Is the run a charity thing?

All answers greatfully recieved. 

Matt

Posted by rleebyers

Eventually Gen Con will post a list of all the events including games that it has scheduled. Then you can buy tickets for the ones that interest you. There will also be some pick-up games here and there in hotel lobbies, etc.

Posted by jackogk

GMing something as an official event would require submitting it, you'll want to read this document on how to do that: https://files.gencon.com/genconeventhostpolicy.pdf

You'll notice that finding events will begin on May 19th and that's when you can find the games and events you'd like to play/participate in which, I'm pretty sure, includes the 5k.

Posted by gamerlaura

The 5K is the Orc Stomp.  It's a course through White River State Park.  No, there's no showers or storage, so if you're far out and don't have a connection to someone who would let you borrow a shower, might be best to skip it.

Posted by not-going-to-gencon

Matt,